It’s the Little Things (or more accurately, the Big Cheap Things)

When we decided to move back to the US for the year, I knew there would be some cultural differences to get used to again, like driving on the right side of the road, saying sweater instead of jumper, and Wal-Marts and McDonalds Drive-Thrus everywhere.

It’s not like I hadn’t been back to the States in the past 3 1/2 years, I had.  Way too much for my checking account to handle.  It’s just that visiting a place and living in a place are two very different things so I hadn’t really bought food or toiletries here in years.

So the more subtle things of everyday living that have ended up throwing me off the most.  Like how cheap a huge punnet of strawberries is at the grocery store (causing me to exclaim multiple times in the store), or how cheap 44 oz. of Diet Coke are at Quiktrip (again, exclaiming multiple times in the store), or how big shampoo bottles are in the US that are still cheaper than the same shampoo in Australia (yep, more exclaiming. I’m embarrassing to shop with).

5 thoughts on “It’s the Little Things (or more accurately, the Big Cheap Things)

  1. [Start of curmugeonship]
    It’s amazing what you get with an army of illegal immigrants picking strawberries at below minimum wage! [End of curmugeonship]

  2. You should have been in Ikea with Paul. I can’t even count how many times he exclaimed “ARE YOU KIDDING ME” when looking at the prices. I have a feeling this is about the same as you finding a cheap 44 oz coke.

Leave a Reply

