When I Grow Up

When I grow up I want to be a graphic designer, property developer, wedding planner, restaurateur, website developer, farmer, event planner, brewmaster, viticulturist, landlord, and internet service provider.  And maybe just maybe do some urban design, since I am trained and experienced in that, as opposed to the rest of this list…

I’m a bit in dreamer mode.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again (and my sister has said it to me multiple times) I need to FOCUS.  I can’t do it all, at least not all at the same time.

There’s also the issue of labels.  I hated it when I was called a housewife, and now that I want to redefine what I do, I feel uncomfortable wearing a different label.  It’s like I am posing as a graphic designer or wedding planner, since I have no formal training in both.  So I guess I am posing a bit.

Though I’m a bit disdainful of credentialing, right now may be a good time for me to take a course or two.

What you want to be when you grow up?  Are you doing it?

4 thoughts on “When I Grow Up

  1. I want to be a collage maker. Get on it, Carolyn! If you get experience you will no longer be a novice. That goes for you too, Keli!

Leave a Reply

